The Other Side of the Rainbow

A.N. I apologize for the shortness of this story, but I’ll try to make up for it in my next story.

I woke up to darkness. Swiftly, I summon fire in hopes of illuminating the area. Unfortunately, while the flames flickering through my fingers provide light, they do little to illuminate my surroundings. Something blocked my sight. Suddenly, I was made aware of the cloth around my eyes. Before I could do anything about it, I heard the door open. Instinctively, I turned to see who was at the door. Two shadows stood in the doorway.

“Percy, Angel is that you?” I rasped. A gasp was my only answer. Flames caressed the mask of bandages I wore, burning them, and freeing my still unseeing eyes. I glanced around in shock, my mind reeling. No, no, no, no! This can’t be real, this is some stupid nightmare! This isn’t real! I shook my head violently, wake up, wake up, wake up!

“Oh Brayden,” Angela’s voice filled my ears, heavy with pity. Pity?! I didn’t need her stinkin’ pity. This was all her fault! I growled a curse at her as the flames grew. She had that damn idea!  And Percy listened to her! Percy didn’t give us an effin’ warning!  I didn’t need their pity! I’m not some helpless Mundie; I’m an Elemental and a Master of Fire! Jorneteff saw fit to make me blind? So be it! Rasol forced me into a world of light and shadow? So be it! Sris frowns upon me? I don’t bloody care! I’ll survive! That shinin’ rainbow etched itself into my memory, the last color I’d ever see. Curses flew from my mouth; I cursed the gods, the Order, Percy’s damn plane, and Angela’s damn idea. The flames grew higher and I was surrounded by a cocoon of light. Fury fueled the flames. Fury and Fear. Fear I didn’t understand. The fire fought to be freed. My flames flew from me, out of my control. I heard a scream. Angela!

Leave a Reply

