The Struggles of the Heart and Mind

My mind echoes with voices of the past

All the people I have been

All the people I have known

My mind highlights my failures

And smudges every victory

My heart dreams impossible dreams

And argues with my mind

My heart latches on to kindness

before shutting down in pain

My mind tries to bring reason to my emotions

But my emotions make no sense

I have no labels for what I feel

So I latch onto those that fit best

My heart cries out

longing for answers

But my mind cannot find any

All logic fails

My feet long to roam

But in fear, I stay still

Anxiously, I fidget

But, where would I go?

I want to run

But I won’t

Leave a Reply

